Tiwari elected as Nagpur mayor, Manisha Dhawade as Dy Mayor

dayashankar tiwari

Nagpur : Dayashankar Tiwari, a trusted lieutenant of the union transport minister Nitin Gadkari and Manisha Dhawade of BJP have been elected as new mayor and deputy mayor of Nagpur Municipal Corporation. The election was held through video-conferencing during a special general body meeting on Tuesday.

The election for the post of mayor was held after the previous mayor, Sandip Joshi, resigned from the post last month and announced the name of senior BJP corporator Tiwari as his successor for the remaining tenure of 13 months.

In 151-member house, Tiwari and Dhawade polled 107 votes each. The saffron party is currently ruling the Nagpur Municipal Corporation with 107 seats in the 151-member house.