Sena will contest West Bengal Assembly elections

CM Uddhav Thackeray

Mumbai : The ruling Shiv Sena in Maharashtra that suffered a humiliating defeat in November state elections in Bihar, now decided to contest 100 seats in the ensuing West Bengal Assembly Elections 2021.

According to available information, Sena is likely to field candidates in Assembly segments, falling under Hooghly, Kolkata, North 24 Parganas, South 24 Parganas, Medinipur, Dumdum, Barrackpore, Bankura, Purulia, Bishnupur, Jhargram and some other areas.

The Sena sources claimed that the chief minister and the party chief Uddhav Thackeray, the Sena Rajya Sabha member and Spokesman, Sanjay Raut, senior party leader Anil Desai and some other senior party leaders are likely to visit the later the poll-bound state in few weeks. Desai, who is also the party general secretary will be visiting West Bengal on January 29 and interact with the party members to chalk out the final strategy.

Earlier, the Sena that fought the Assembly elections in Bihar did not manage to even win a single seat in the Bihar assembly elections with the Sena fetching fewer votes than the voters who exercised the None of the Above (NOTA) option. The Sena polled 0.05% of the total votes while NOTA fetched 1.68% votes. All Sena candidates lost their deposits.

The Sena had also contested the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 in Bengal, however, at that point of time, it was part of the NDA and in alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party. However, the decades-long alliance partners parted ways following the Maharashtra Assembly polls 2019 after both the parties failed to reach an agreement over the chief minister issue.

The Sena is likely to contest on 100 Assembly segments. It was said that Sena is also having talks with smaller parties with similar ideologies to forge a pre-poll alliance. Notably, the main battle in the West Bengal polls will be fought between Mamata Banerjee-headed Trinamool Congress and the resurgent BJP.

बातम्यांच्या अपडेटसाठी लाईक करा आमच्या फेसबुक पेजलाMT LIKE OUR PAGE FOOTER