Sandeep Joshi resigns from the post of Nagpur Mayor

SAndeep Joshi

Nagpur : In a significant development, the Nagpur mayor, Sandeep Joshi, who was defeated in the state legislative council election from the graduate constituency, this month, resigned from the mayorship of the Nagpur Municipal Corporation.

The mayor Joshi announced his decision to resign from the post at a press conference on Monday. The senior BJP corporator, Dayashankar Tiwari is likely to be nominated as the next mayor of Nagpur city.

Joshi, a trusted lieutenant of former chief minister and Leader of Opposition, Devendra Fadnavis, was elected as the city mayor on November 22, 2019. The BJP had decided to split the tenure of mayor between Joshi and Dayashankar Tiwari but Joshi’s reign ended precisely 13 months into the office.

After his humiliating defeat at the hands of the Congress candidate, Abhijit Wanjari, the opposition, the Congress and the NCP, insisted on his resignation. He was defeated by over 18,000 votes from a traditional BJP constituency— Nagpur Graduate constituency– where the saffron party never lost an election since its inception. His resignation was accepted by the Radhakrishna B, the municipal commissioner of Nagpur Municipal Corporation.