Public holiday declared on LS poll dates in Maharashtra

Maharashtra Election

Mumbai: Maharashtra government has announced a public holiday on the day of polling for the Lok Sabha elections which will be held on dates 11, 18 , 23 and 29 of this month.

Maharashtra is representative of 48 Lok Sabha seats. The polling will be carried out in four phases across the state, starting April 11, 2019.

The notification issued by the Maharashtra government will be applicable for the state and central government offices followed by semi-government offices, public enterprise, and educational institutions. This will also apply to the employees who work outside their constituency.

In the first phase of LS poll starting April 11, the state government has issued a notification declaring a public holiday in Lok Sabha constituencies including Wardha, Ramtek, Nagpur, Bhandara-Gondiya, Gadchiroli-Chimur, Chandrapur, and Yavatmal-Washim.

The voting for the second phase will begin on April 18, 2019, the constituencies for the same includes Buldhana, Akola, Amravati, Hinglo, Nanded, Parbhani, Beed, Osmanabad, Latur, and Solapur.

For the third phase of LS polls, the Maharashtra government has announced a public holiday on April 23. The constituencies include Jalgaon, Raver, Jalna, Aurangabad, Raigad, Pune, Baramati, Ahmednagar, Madha, Sangli, Satara, Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg, Kolhapur, and Hatkanangale.

The fourth phase of the LS elections in Maharashtra will be held on April 29 and a public holiday has been declared for the voters in constituencies including Nandurbar, Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, Palghar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane, Mumbai North, Mumbai North West, Mumbai North East, Mumbai North Central, Mumbai South Central, Mumbai South, Maval, Shirur, and Shirdi.