Maharashtra gets its new Congress chief soon, Thorat may resign

Congress & Balasaheb Thorat

Mumbai : If rumour mills are to be believed, the Maharashtra Congress chief Balasaheb Thorat likely to resign from his current post and a new president would be appointed soon. Thorat, who is in Delhi on Monday and expected to meet top Congress leadership in this regard. Among the prominent Congress leaders whose names have emerged as the state Congress chief post include: Vishwajeet Kadam from Western Maharashtra, Rajiv Satav from Marathwada, Amit Deshmukh from Marathwada, Yashomati Thakur, Vijay Wadettiwar and Nana Patole from Vidarbha.

If sources within the Delhi Congress have to be believed, there is a possibility that high command will discuss these names with Thorat. Under Thorat’s leadership, Congress won 44 seats in the last state assembly polls. He was one of the strong advocates of Congress joining ‘Maha Vikas Aghadi’ with NCP and Shiv Sena.

The senior Congress leader was appointed as state Congress chief post last Lok Sabha Election 2019 after Congress won only one Lok Sabha seat under the leadership of former chief minister Ashok Chavan. Thorat who hails from Sagamner city of Maharashtra has a stronghold in the cooperative sector of Maharashtra too.

The Congress sources in New Delhi said that Thorat may tender his resignation as he is overburdened with the post of state Congress Chief, CLP leader and as a Cabinet minister. Recently the high command changes the leadership of Mumbai Congress keeping eye on the upcoming BMC election. Baton of Mumbai Congress was given to Bhai Jagtap. Within the state Congress, there was a demand that Maharashtra should have a full-time president. The task of building a party in the state is big and hence state leaders want full-time leadership who can concentrate on the expansion of the party.

Among the contenders for the post, Kadam, Amit Deshmukh and Nana Patole are the frontrunners as Satav is happy with Delhi politics while Wadettiwar is not interested to relinquish his ministership in lieu of the post.