CWG 2018: Indian men’s TT team wins gold after 12 years

Gold coast: India defeated Nigeria 3-0 to clinch gold in the men’s table tennis team event at the Commonwealth Games for the first time since 2006. This is also the first time that India have won both men’s and women’s TT team events at a single CWG edition.

India’s campaign was led by the veteran Achanta Sharath Kamal, who had to fight hard to overcome Bode Abiodun 4-11, 11-5, 11-4, 11-9 to give India a 1-0 lead. Sathiyan Gnanasekaran had an equally challenging contest with Segun Toriola, as he had to battle hard for a 10-12, 11-3, 11-3, 11-4 win to give India a 2-0 margin.

Harmeet Desai and Gnanasekaran then took on Olajide Omotayo and Abiodun and carved out an 11-8, 11-5, 11-3 win to settle the issue in India’s favour.

With this, India joined England to bag second-most table tennis gold medals (5) at CWG.

India holds total 18 medals till now including nine gold, 5 silver and 4 bronze medals in CWG 2018.