22 MLCs retire in April-July in Maharashtra

Vidhan Bhavan

Mumbai: As many as 22 Maharashtra Legislative Council (MLC) members will be retired in April-July this year. Presently, the opposition BJP dominates the 78-member Upper House. After the assembly elections held in last October, the Shiv Sena fell out with its ally BJP and joined hands with the ideologically opposite NCP and Congress to form Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) government.

According to available information, the Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, who is currently not a member of either of the two Houses, is likely to take the Council route to become a member of the state legislature.
Among the 22 seats, eight vacancies will be created in the MLA quota. Rests who will be

retiring are 10 members, who were appointed by the Governor, besides a member each from the Aurangabad Graduates, Nagpur Graduates, Amravati Teachers and Pune Teachers constituencies.